Managing Access & Visibility rules

Access & Visibility provides enhanced functionality to manage the degree of form level access and the actions performed by various districts, schools, or organizations.

Access & Visibility provides the ability to manage a form’s access and permissions. This allows you to create a rule and grant or deny which organizations, user, or roles can have access and assign what actions or functions they can perform e.g. View, Edit, Duplicate, etc.

Accessing the Access & Visibility settings for a form

To access the Access & Visibility settings for a form, log into the Permission Click platform, navigate to Forms, select the form you want to see the settings for, and choose the Access & Visibility tab.

Creating a new access rule

Step 1: Click the New Access Rule button to start a new rule or add additional rules. 

Step 2: Set the rule as a grant or deny rule

Choose either I grant or I deny to either allow access to the form or deny access. This is helpful if you want to allow a group of people access (grant a role or org) but want to exclude certain individuals. For this example, you would create a grant rule for the role and then add a second deny rule with the specific users to exclude.

NOTE: Rules are handled in the order that they are set in the Access & Visibility tab (going from top to bottom). This can cause some rules to override others. Use the drag handle on the rule’s row to drag-and-drop to change the order of the rules, remember to click Save when finished.

Step 3: Choose organizations, roles, or users

Choose the organizations, users, and/or roles to include in the rule (use the search to help finding each easier). You can select any combination of each.

To remove options that you have selected, either uncheck the option on the left-side of the dropdown, or use the trash can () icon on the right-side of the dropdown.

Step 4: Choose actions

Choose one or several access or function options. You can use the top-most checkbox to select or deselect all of the options.

To remove options that you have selected, either uncheck the option on the left-side of the dropdown, or use the trash can icon () on the right-side of the dropdown.

Step 5: Save

Click the Save button to save your changes.

Editing or changing an existing access rule

To edit an existing access rule, it's very similar to creating a new rule. Instead of clicking the New Access Rule button, simply use the three dropdown menus in any of your existing rules to change the options that were previously selected.

When finished making your changes, click the Save button to finish.

Reordering access rules

As mentioned earlier in this article, rules are processed in the order they are shown in the Access & Visibility tab (from top to bottom).

You can reorder rules at any time by using the drag icon on the row of any rule and drag-and-drop the rule to it's new location.

Disabling access rules

You can disable an access rule at any time (for those instances where you want to temporarily turn off a rule and don't want to have to delete the rule) by clicking the state switch on each rule.

Duplicating an access rule

If there is a rule that you want to make a copy of, you can quickly create a clone of an existing rule by clicking on the Duplicate icon on the rule you want to make a copy of.

Deleting an access rule

To delete a rule that you don't want to use any longer, click on the delete icon of the rule you want to delete.